August, 3
BRICS Summit 2018 Concludes
The 10th BRICS Summit took place in Johannesburg from the 25th to the 27th of July. The theme of the Summit was 'BRICS in Africa: Collaboration for inclusive growth and shared prosperity in the 4th Industrial Revolution'.
The leaders jointly reaffirmed their commitment to the principles of mutual respect, sovereign equality, democracy, inclusiveness and strengthened collaboration.

Commitment to the multilateral trading system was re-affirmed by the bloc which spoke against protectionism and called for openness and multilateralism. "We confirmed our commitment to the World Trade Organisation, as the most effective mechanism available to ensure that a rules based transparent, non-discriminatory, open and inclusive multilateral trading system," said President Ramaphosa.

The leaders also reaffirmed their commitment to fully implementing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), to provide equitable, inclusive, open, all-round innovation-driven and sustainable development, in its three dimensions — economic, social and environmental — in a balanced and integrated manner, towards the ultimate goal of eradicating poverty by 2030.
During the summit leaders adopted the Johannesburg Declaration.

The text of 10th BRICS Summit Johannesburg Declaration is available here.
At the Summit two agreements were signed:

- Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on Environmental Cooperation;

- Memorandum of nderstanding (MoU) on a regional aviation partnership amongst the BRICS countries.
The summit agreed on the establishment of a BRICS Women's Forum, vaccine centre to be based in SA and a tourism track to promote people to people co-operation.
BRICS Outreach
As part of BRICS outreach as informed by the 2011 Sanya declaration, leaders from the five countries committed to expand their cooperation and partnerships to non-BRICS countries. In line with this, a BRICS-Africa outreach and BRICS-Plus sessions were held.

The African Union (AU) Chairman and Rwandan President Paul Kagame, Togo President and the then Chairman of the Economic Community of West Africa States (ECOWAS) Faure Gnassingbe, Angolan President Joao Lourenco, Ugandan President and the Chairman of the East African Community, Yoweri Museveni and Namibia as incoming chairman of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) participated in the BRICS-Africa outreach session.

The Chairman of the G20 and Common Market of the South (MERCOSUR) Mauricio Marci; the Chairman of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation and President of Turkey Recep Erdogan and United Nations (UN) Secretary-General Antonio Guterres took part in the BRICS-Plus session.